Reed, Gonzalez, Bailey Headline 2019 Hall Of Fame Class

The 8-person class has been named for enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall Of Fame in 2019.

In their first years on the ballot, Tony Gonzalez, Ed Reed and Champ Bailey will be headed to Canton for enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, along with fellow greats, Ty Law, Kevin Mawae, contributors Pat Bowlen (late Denver Broncos’ owner) & Gil Brandt (former Dallas Cowboys’ scout) and Johnny Robinson (senior nominee).

Mawae and Law were in their third year of eligibility.

While often nominees at the same position tend to cancel each other out, that wasn’t the case with Law and Bailey. Mawae was able to make it through a long line of offensive linemen, as tackle Tony Boselli and guards Alan Faneca & Steve Hutchinson were in the final 10, as were safety Steve Atwater and running back Edgerrin James.

Those eliminated in the first cut from 15 to 10 were coaches Don Coryell and Tom Flores, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, defensive end Richard Seymour, and safety John Lynch.

The offensive linemen, James, and Atwater stand solid chances of getting in next year, as the group of first-time eligible players isn’t as strong as years past. Safety Troy Polamalu will be the headliner, with wide receiver Reggie Wayne and linebacker Patrick Willis suitable as well. A deeper group is coming up in 2021, when Peyton Manning, Charles Woodson, and Calvin Johnson will be eligible.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Lifestyle… Defiant

%d bloggers like this: