Lynx Win WNBA Championship

The Minnesota Lynx defeated the Los Angeles Sparks in Game 5 to win the WNBA title.

The Minnesota Lynx are now WNBA champions for the fourth time in franchise history… all coming within the last seven years.


In the ultimate Game 5, the Lynx were victorious 85-76, led by 17 points and 20 rebounds from regular season and Finals MVP Sylvia Fowles. Minnesota’s victory maintained a streak of winning the trophy in every odd year since 2011. It also prevented the Los Angeles Sparks from becoming the first franchise to repeat as champion since 2002. This fourth title ties Minnesota with the Houston Comets for the most in WNBA history.

The dominant Sylvia Fowles had 17 points and broke her own WNBA Finals record with those 20 rebounds to lead the Lynx.

Mya Moore had 18 points and 10 rebounds and hit a huge runner with 26 seconds to play, Lindsay Whalen put up 17 points and eight assists and Seimone Augustus chipped in 14 points, six assists and six rebounds. The Lynx fought off elimination twice in the series, taking Games 4 and 5,  avenging a last-second defeat to the Sparks in Minnesota last year that prevented them from making history a year sooner.

Candace Parker posted 19 points, 15 rebounds and 5 assists for the Sparks, while Chelsea Gray had 15 points and 8 assists. All-star forward Nneka Ogwumike fouled out with 5:29 to play and had 11 points. Los Angeles committed 17 turnovers in the game.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s