Defy Life College Football Awards Projections

The Defy Life crew got together to give our projections on who will take home college football’s major awards.

The 2016 college football season is winding down. With this, comes trophies. Lots of big, shiny trophies! So, the Defy Life crew gathered together in our lavish office in downtown (or is it uptown?) Fargo, North Dakota to weigh in on our projections on who will win those big, shiny trophies. Many household names (Lamar Jackson, Deshaun Watson, Jabril Peppers) and a few under-the-radar studs (Jonathan Allen, Jordan Leggett, Donnel Pumphrey) fill the docket.

Let’s see who J.R., Alvin, Keyonne and Thomas think will walk away with the hardware.


J.R. Glymph: Lamar Jackson

Alvin Glymph: Lamar Jackson

Keyonne Small: Lamar Jackson

Thomas Stephens: Lamar Jackson

Lamar Jackson
Lamar Jackson has been the frontrunner for the Heisman trophy all season long.

Maxwell Award (outstanding player)

Finalists: Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), Jabrill Peppers (Michigan).

J.R. Glymph: Lamar Jackson

Alvin Glymph: Lamar Jackson

Keyonne Small: Lamar Jackson

Thomas Stephens: Lamar Jackson

Bednarik Award (defensive player)

Finalists: Jabrill Peppers (Michigan), Jonathan Allen (Alabama), Myles Garrett (Texas A&M).

J.R. Glymph: Jonathan Allen

Alvin Glymph: Jabril Peppers

Keyonne Small: Jabril Peppers

Thomas Stephens: Jabril Peppers

Thorpe Award (defensive back)

Finalists: Jourdan Lewis (Michigan), Adoree’ Jackson (USC), Tre’Davious White (LSU)

J.R. Glymph: Jourdan Lewis

Alvin Glymph: Adoree’ Jackson

Keyonne Small: Jourdan Lewis

Thomas Stephens: Adoree’ Jackson

O’Brien Award (quarterback)

Finalists: Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Deshaun Watson (Clemson), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

J.R. Glymph: Deshaun Watson

Alvin Glymph: Lamar Jackson

Keyonne Small: Lamar Jackson

Thomas Stephens: Deshaun Watson

Butkus Award (linebacker)

Finalists: Zach Cunningham (Vanderbilt), Reuben Foster (Alabama), Kendell Beckwith (LSU), Josey Jewell (Iowa), Jarrad Davis (Florida).

J.R. Glymph: Reuben Foster

Alvin Glymph: Reuben Foster

Keyonne Small: Reuben Foster

Thomas Stephens: Reuben Foster

Reuben Foster
Reuben Foster has conjured up memories of Patrick Willis in the SEC.

Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver)

Finalists: Zay Jones (East Carolina), Austin Carr (Northwestern), Dede Westbrook (Oklahoma)

J.R. Glymph: Dede Westbrook

Alvin Glymph: Dede Westbrook

Keyonne Small: Zay Jones

Thomas Stephens: Zay Jones

Doak Walker Award (running back)

Finalists: Dalvin Cook (FSU), Donnel Pumphrey (San Diego State), D’Onta Foreman (Texas).

J.R. Glymph: D’Onta Foreman

Alvin Glymph: Donnel Pumphrey

Keyonne Small: Dalvin Cook

Thomas Stephens: Dalvin Cook

Mackey Award (tight end)

Finalists: Jake Butt (Michigan), O.J. Howard (Alabama), Jordan Leggett (Clemson)

J.R. Glymph: Jordan Leggett

Alvin Glymph: Jordan Leggett

Keyonne Small: O.J. Howard

Thomas Stephens: Jordan Leggett

Jordan Leggett
Jordan Leggett has been a consistent weapon for the Clemson offense.

Outland Trophy (interior lineman)

Finalists: Cam Robinson (Alabama), Cody O’Connell (Washington State), Pat Elflein (Ohio State).

J.R. Glymph: Pat Elflein

Alvin Glymph: Cam Robinson

Keyonne Small: Cam Robinson

Thomas Stephens: Pat Elflein

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s